The power plant was commissioned in 1980 and utilises an 83-metre waterfall from Roskreppfjorden to Øyarvatn lake. From the dam intake in Roskreppfjorden, water is transferred through a 3,500-metre long supply tunnel down to the pressure shaft which ends up in the power plant.

The power plant has a generator with a Francis turbine, and with its 50 MW of installed output, it is the smallest power plant in the Sira-Kvina power company. The service water is used by Kvinen Power Plant further downstream in the same watercourse. Both power plants produce the bulk of their power in the wintertime.

Owners: Lyse Produksjon AS 41.1%, Statkraft 32.1%, Skagerak Kraft AS 14.6%, Agder Energi 12.2%.